Update 1/6/15 – Missouri’s updated self-storage lien law, signed by Gov. Jay Nixon last July, went into effect on Jan. 1. The law expands tenant default-notification options, enables value limitations on stored items, and allows for towing of abandoned vehicles after 60 days. The period of default in non-vehicle situations was extended from 30 to 45 days.
The new statute also requires tenants to provide information about any third party who may store items in the unit as well as a list of unit contents prior to items being stored, according to the source.
Other new laws in effect in the state as of Jan. 1 include those related to beer sales, mammogram reporting and the cost of cancer drugs.
7/18/14 – Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon signed an updated self-storage lien law on July 11 that expands tenant default-notification options, enables value limitations on stored items, and allows for towing of abandoned vehicles. House Bill 1225 was introduced to the Missouri House of Representatives in January. It was supported by the Missouri Self Storage Owners Association and the national Self Storage Association (SSA). It is similar to recent legislation passed in other states, in part due to lobbying efforts by the SSA and its affiliates.
The updated lien law provides self-storage operators with more options for notifying tenants of impending lien-sale procedures. Now they can use e-mail and place public advertisements in media other than a local newspaper. They can even use online-auction websites to conduct the actual sale.
In addition, HB 1225 allows operators to place limitations in their rental agreements on the value of stored goods. In the case of a lien sale, the value limit designated on the contract would be considered the maximum value of the stored property and the maximum liability of the operator for any claim of loss or damage to tenant goods. The period of default was also extended from 30 to 45 days.
Finally, new language in the new law addresses motor vehicles, including boats and RVs, and enables operators to have vehicles towed after delinquency exceeds 60 days.
- Columbia Missourian: Missouri Laws Taking Effect Jan. 1 Cover Beer Sales, Drug Costs, Storage Units and More
- Inside Self-Storage: New Self-Storage Lien-Law Legislation Introduced in Missouri, New York
- Missouri House of Representatives: House Bill 1225
- Monday Morning Globe: 7/14/2014, Updated Missouri Lien Law Signed